Skip to main content

Tax Concessions

Tax
Starting from April 2019, retirement savings by way of qualifying deferred annuity policies (“QDAP”)  may entitle you to tax deductions. The deduction cap is HKD60,000 per year, which is an aggregate limit for both qualifying deferred annuity premiums and tax deductible MPF voluntary contributions ("TVC"). Based on the current highest tax rate (i.e. 17%), the maximum tax savings can reach up to HKD10,200 every year! Furthermore, you can apply for tax deduction up to HKD8,000 per year for the premiums paid for each VHIS policy. There is no upper limit for the number of policies eligible for tax deduction. Taxpayers may apply for tax deduction for eligible policy(ies) of which he/she or his/her spouse is the policy owner.
Know moreTax Savings Calculator

 
Icon Tax Concessions Tips
 

Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme

Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme (“VHIS”) is a policy initiative implemented by the Food and Health Bureau (“FHB”) on 1 April 2019 to regulate indemnity hospital insurance plans offered to individuals by insurance companies.

 

There are two types of VHIS Certified Plans, namely “Standard Plan” and “Flexi Plan”. The Standard Plan provides a basic level of protection that meets but not exceeds all VHIS minimum requirements; while the Flexi Plan provides enhanced benefits based on the Standard Plan product features – e.g. higher benefit limits and broader benefit coverage. Certainly, premiums of the Flexi Plan will be higher than that of the Standard Plan.

 

Both Standard Plan and Flexi Plan are eligible to apply for tax deduction.

All Certified Plans under VHIS, including Standard Plans and Flexi Plans, must meet or exceed the minimum product standards of VHIS.

 

  • Standard Plan: offers uniform terms and protection, and fulfills the minimum policy coverage and benefit limits requirements of VHIS. The Standard Plans offered by different insurance companies will be roughly the same, except for very limited minor allowable variations.
  • Flexi Plan: offers basic protection equivalent to Standard Plan coverage plus flexible top-up protection, e.g. higher benefit limits and broader benefit coverage. To suit market needs, insurance companies will design various top-up protection but subject to certain rules set out by the FHB.

 

Due to variety in product design of certified plans available in the market, consumers are advised to ensure that their rights are protected by  comparing different products in the market and carefully read through the product brochures andthe terms and conditions of relevant insurance plans.

Your VHIS policy should fulfill the following criteria in order to be eligible for the tax concessions-

 

  • The policy provides coverage of a Certified Plan under VHIS;
  • The policy owner is an individual income taxpayer or his/her spouse;
  • The insured person is the policy owner or the policy owner’s “specified relatives” as defined under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112); and
  • The insured person is a Hong Kong resident*.

 

(*) Including Hong Kong Identity Card holders, and people aged under 11 who are not Hong Kong Identity Card holders but their parents are Hong Kong Identity Card holders when they were born or adopted. For details, please refer to the definitions under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112).

A specified relative of a policy owner refers to the policy owner’s -

  • Spouse;
  • Children* aged less than 18 / aged 18 to less than aged 25 receiving full-time education / aged 18 or above but incapacitated for work by reason of physical or mental disability;
  • Brothers or sisters* aged less than 18 / aged 18 to less than aged 25 receiving full-time education / aged 18 or above but incapacitated for work by reason of physical or mental disability; or
  • Parents or grandparents* aged less than 55 but eligible to claim an allowance under the Government’s Disability Allowance Scheme / aged 55 or above.

 

(*) Step and adopted relationships also qualify. For details, please refer to the definitions under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112).

For each assessment year, the premiums that an individual taxpayer can claim for tax deduction is up to HKD8,000 per insured person. There is no upper limit on the number of eligible policies that may apply for tax deduction.


Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policy 
 

A deferred annuity product must satisfy the criteria set out in the guideline issued by the Insurance Authority to qualify as a QDAP. The criteria include:

  • A minimum total premium of HKD180,000 and minimum payment period of 5 years;
  • A minimum annuity period of 10 years;
  • Annuitization at the age of 50 or above; and
  • Fulfilment of the following disclosure requirements:
    • A clear statement of the Internal Rate of Return (IRR) in the sales brochure and in the related communication with policy owners;
    • A clear presentation of the guaranteed and non-guaranteed annuity payment, if applicable; and
    • Clear separation of the premiums of riders such as critical illness and hospitalization cash from the premiums for the QDAP.

 

To facilitate filing of tax returns of QDAP for policy owners, insurance companies will issue an annual summary of QDAP to policy owners within 40 days after the end of the year of assessment (i.e. 31 March), listing the total amount of QDAP premiums you paid during the year of assessment. Premiums paid for riders and those that do not qualify for a tax deduction will be deducted from the annual summary. The product brochure of a QDAP will clearly indicate whether a product is certified by the IA as a QDAP and carries a QDAP logo. From 1 April 2019, the public can visit the website of the Insurance Authority (www.ia.org.hk) for the list of QDAP eligible for tax deduction available in the market.

Starting from 1 April 2019, retirement savings of taxpayers via qualifying deferred annuity premiums of QDAP and TVC under MPF schemes may enjoy tax deductions of up to a maximum aggregate limit of HKD60,000 per year.

A taxpayer is allowed to claim tax deductions for qualifying deferred annuity premiums paid for QDAP covering the couple as joint annuitants, or either the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s spouse as a sole annuitant. A taxpayer earning salary income may claim deductions under salaries tax, while a taxpayer earning income from business profits or properties has to elect for personal assessment and claim deductions under personal assessment.

 

Married taxpayers may claim deductions for qualifying deferred annuity premiums paid by himself/herself or his/her spouse living together with him/her but the amount already claimed by his/her spouse must be excluded. If the husband and wife both are taxpayers, they can freely allocate the qualifying deferred annuity premiums for tax deductions in order to claim a maximum amount of deductions of HKD120,000, so long as the deductions claimed by each taxpayer do not exceed the individual limit (i.e. a maximum of HKD60,000 per individual).

 

Example 1

Mr. Chan and his wife both have income chargeable to tax. Mr. Chan and his wife separately bought QDAP each with annual premiums of HKD100,000 and HKD20,000 respectively. This couple may flexibly allocate the tax deductions between themselves so long as the two policies cover the couple as joint annuitants, or either the husband or the wife as a sole annuitant, and the deductions claimed by each of them do not exceed the individual limit of HKD60,000. In other words, Mr. Chan can claim deduction of HKD60,000 out of his premiums of HKD100,000. As Mrs. Chan has not yet used up the deduction limit after claiming deduction of her premiums of HKD20,000, she can claim the remaining amount of HKD40,000 from her husband’s premiums. In this case, the taxpaying couple can each claim deduction of HKD60,000, i.e. a total deduction of HKD120,000 between the both of them.

 

Example 2

Mrs. Chan does not have income chargeable to tax, and as such, no tax deduction for qualifying deferred annuity premiums paid can be allowed to her. In this case, the couple is not eligible to elect for joint assessment or personal assessment jointly. Under this circumstance, the maximum amount of deduction allowable to Mr. Chan is his individual limit (i.e. HKD60,000, but not HKD120,000).

 

For details of the tax deduction arrangements, please contact the Inland Revenue Department through their hotline at 187 8088 or visit their website.

For the qualifying deferred annuity premiums paid and TVC made starting from 1 April 2019, you can claim deductions when you file the tax return for the year of assessment 2019/20.

 

For details of the tax deduction arrangements, please contact the Inland Revenue Department through their hotline at 187 8088 or visit their website.

 

Reference:

Insurance Authority website (www.ia.org.hk)

The Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme under the Food and Health Bureau (www.vhis.gov.hk)

Education platform The Chin Family managed by the Investor and Financial Education Council (www.thechinfamily.hk)

The above information is provided for reference only. BOC Group Life Assurance Company Limited (“BOC Life”) is not liable for any damage or loss caused through use or misuse of any provided information in the above article. ​

 

Any general tax information provided is for your reference only, and you should not make any tax-related decisions based on such information alone. You should always consult with a professional tax advisor if you have any doubts. Please note that the tax law, regulations or interpretations are subject to change and may affect related tax benefits including the eligibility criteria for tax deduction. BOC Life does not take any responsibility to inform you about any changes in the laws and regulations or interpretations, and how they may affect you.

跳至主內容

可享稅務優惠產品專頁

Tax

由2019年4月開始,
納稅人購買合資格延期年金保單作退休儲蓄,可就其合資格延期年金保費申請稅務扣除,每年就其合資格延期年金保費及强積金可扣稅自願性供款扣除額上限為合共港元60,000,以現時最高的稅率(即17%)計算,每年最多可以節省港元10,200稅款!另外,您每年亦可就每張自願醫保計劃的保單所繳交之保費,申請最多港元8,000的扣稅額,而用作稅務扣減的保單數目更不設上限。納税人可就其本人或其配偶為保單權益人的合資格保單,申請稅務扣除。

延伸閱讀稅項計算機

 
Icon 稅務優惠貼士
 

自願醫保計劃

於2019年4月1日由食物及衞生局(“食衞局”)推出的自願醫保計劃("Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme"),簡稱VHIS,是一項政策措施以規範保險公司的個人償款住院保險產品。

自願醫保計劃可分為「標準計劃」及「靈活計劃」,必須符合或高於自願醫保計劃下要求的最低產品標準。「標準計劃」按自願醫保的最低要求提供標準化的基本保障;而靈活計劃必須較標準計劃提供更具彈性的附加保障— 如較高的保障限額及較廣的保障範圍,當然保費亦比標準計劃為高。

無論您參與標準計劃還是靈活計劃,均可就已付保費申請稅務扣除。

自願醫保計劃下所有認可產品均設有最低產品標準要求,標準計劃及靈活計劃都必須符合或高於此標準。

  • 標準計劃:劃一條款及保障,並設有保障範圍及保障額的最低要求。市場上不同保險公司提供的標準計劃大致相同,除了極少量經允許的輕微改動外。
  • 靈活計劃:標準計劃的基本保障,加上具彈性的附加保障,例如較高的保障限額及較廣的保障範圍。為配合市場需要,保險公司會設計不同的附加保障,但均受限於食衞局發出的相關規則。

由於市場上認可產品的設計各有不同,消費者應保障自己的權益,多作比較,以及小心細閱有關的產品小冊子、保單條款及細則。

您的自願醫保計劃保單必須符合以下所有條件,方可享稅務優惠-

  • 該保單必須提供自願醫保計劃下認可產品的保障;
  • 保單權益人為個人入息税的納税人或其配偶;
  • 受保人為保單持有人或《税務條例》(第112章)下所指定的「指明親屬」;及
  • 受保人為香港居民* 。

(*) 包括香港身份證持有人;及未持有香港身份證的11歲以下人士,但在出生或被領養時其父母為香港身份證持有人。詳情請參閱《税務條例》(第112章)内的詳細定義。

保單權益人的「指明親屬」是指保單權益人的 -

  • 配偶;
  • 子女*:未年滿18歲 / 年滿18歲,但未滿25歲並接受全日制教育 / 年滿18歲,但因身體上或精神上無行為能力而不能工作;
  • 兄弟姊妹*:未年滿18歲 / 年滿18歲,但未滿25歲並接受全日制教育 / 年滿18 歲,但因身體上或精神上無行為能力而不能工作;或
  • 父母或祖父母或外祖父母*:未年滿55歲,但有資格根據政府傷殘津貼計劃申索津貼 / 年滿55 歲。

 

(*) 繼養及領養關係亦符合資格。詳情請參閱《税務條例》(第112章)內的定義。

在每個課税年度,可作稅務扣除的保費上限為毎名受保人港元8,000。而可申請稅務扣除的合資格保單數目並不設上限。


合資格延期年金保單 
 

延期年金產品需符合保險業監管局發出的指引就合資格延期年金保單所訂之條件,包括:

  • 保費總額最少為港元18萬,保費繳費年期為最少5年;
  • 年金領取期最短為10年 ;
  • 年金領取人須年屆50歲或以上才可領取年金 ;
  • 符合以下的披露規定:
    • 產品的內部回報率須在其銷售說明書及與保單權益人的相關通訊內清楚註明;
    • 須清楚公布年金的保證年金額和非保證年金額 (如適用);
    • 附加保障(例如危疾保障、住院現金等)的保費須與合資格延期年金的保費清楚分開

 

為方便投保人就合資格延期年金保費總額填寫報稅表,保險公司於每個課稅年度完結(即3月31日)後的40日內向投保人提供保單年度摘要,列出你在該課稅年度已繳交的合資格延期年金保費金額。就附加保障或其他不符合稅務扣除條件的產品而繳交的保費,會在保單年度摘要中被扣除。合資格延期年金保單的銷售文件上會清晰地標明該產品已獲保險業監管局認證,並印有QDAP標誌。市民可於2019年4月1日起登入保險業監管局網站(www.ia.org.hk),查閱「符合稅務扣減資格之合資格延期年金保單名單」。

由2019年4月1日起,納稅人繳付合資格延期年金保費及作出可扣稅強積金自願性供款可在薪俸稅和個人入息課稅下獲得稅務扣除,扣除額每年上限為合共港元60,000。

作為納稅人,您可選擇與配偶作為聯名年金領取人,或是您或配偶作為單一年金領取人,兩者均符合資格申請合資格延期年金保費扣稅。賺取薪俸入息的納稅人可在薪俸稅下申請扣除;而賺取業務利潤或物業收入的納稅人則須透過選擇個人入息課稅,在個人入息課稅下申請扣除。

夫婦納稅人可申索扣除自己或同住配偶所繳付的合資格延期年金保費,但必須剔除配偶已申請扣除的同一筆款項。如夫婦二人均為納稅人,他們可選擇自由分配合資格延期年金保費作稅務扣除,以申請合共最高港元120,000的扣除總額,但每名納稅人所申請的扣除額不得超過個人上限 (即每人最高港元60,000)。

例子一

陳先生夫婦均有應課稅入息,陳先生及太太早前分別購買了合資格延期年金保單,保費為港元100,000及港元20,000。只要該兩份保單的年金領取人是夫婦其中一位或聯名,那麼,夫婦二人便可靈活地分配扣除額,只要每人所申請的扣除額不得超過個人最高港元60,000的上限。換句話說,陳先生可申請扣除港元100,000保費當中的港元60,000;而陳太太在申請扣除港元20,000的保費後,仍未用盡其扣除額,所以陳太太同時可申請扣除其丈夫的保單中未有申請扣除的港元40,000。在這情況下,這對須繳稅夫婦每人可各自申請扣除港元60,000,合共為港元120,000。

例子二

陳太太並無應課稅入息,那她並不會獲得任何合資格延期年金保費的扣除額。夫婦二人在此情況下並不能以合併方式評稅或共同選擇以個人入息課稅方式評稅,故此陳先生可獲得的扣除額為其個人上限 (即港元60,000而非港元120,000)。

有關稅務扣除的詳情,請致電稅務局的查詢熱線187 8088或瀏覽稅務局網站

2019年4月1 日起繳交的合資格延期年金保費及/或作出的可扣稅強積金自願性供款皆可申請稅務扣除。你可於遞交2019/20課稅年度的報稅表時作出有關申請。

有關稅務扣除的詳情,請致電稅務局的查詢熱線187 8088或瀏覽稅務局網站

 

資料來源:

保險業監管局網頁(www.ia.org.hk)

食物及衞生局自願醫保計劃網頁(www.vhis.gov.hk)

投資者及理財教育委員會轄下教育平台錢家有道網頁 (www.thechinfamily.hk)

以上內容只供參考,中銀人壽對任何人因使用或誤用以上任何訊息或內容,或對其依賴而造成的任何損失或損害,不承擔任何責任。

以上一般稅務資料僅為供閣下參考之用,閣下不應僅基於此資料作出任何稅務相關的決定。如有疑問,閣下必須向專業稅務顧問/稅務局作出諮詢。請注意,稅務的法律、法規或闡釋可能會更改並有機會影響稅務優惠包括稅項扣除申請資格。有關法律、法規或闡釋方面的任何變更及其如何影響閣下,中銀集團人壽保險有限公司並沒有任何責任告知閣下。